Posted by Paul Ellis Jackson

UCC is excited to announce that Rev. Dr. Keith Williamson will be leading a class on “Zealot–the Life and Times of Jesus of Nazareth” by Rez Aslan, during our May-June Monday night class.

The class will be every Monday night (except for memorial Day, May 26) of May and June 2014–starting Monday, May 5.

Find a full class schedule right below Keith’s brief biography:

Rev. Dr. Keith Williamson served as one of the interim co-pastors at UCC during 2012.

An ordained minister (now retired) in the United Methodist Church, he has served as Teacher-in-Residence at College Hill UMC for more than twenty years, teaching classes on progressive theology and biblical scholarship.  From 1977-2008 he was a member of the faculty of the Elliott School of Communication at W.S.U.  A native Wichitan, he is a graduate of Wichita High School East, and Wichita State University (English and History).  His seminary degree is from S.M.U (Perkins School of Theology), and his doctorate from Temple University (speech/communication).


A Series Exploring Zealot:

The Life and Times of Jesus of Nazareth

by Reza Aslan, internationally acclaimed writer and scholar of religion


University Congregational Church

Mondays, May & June of 2014, 6:30-8:00 p.m.

Rev. Dr. Keith Williamson, Instructor

Copies of the best-selling book—Reza Aslan, Zealot: The Life and Times of Jesus of Nazareth (NY:  Random House, 2013)—are available in the UCC Library to check out.  Not required reading but preferred.



5/5—   Introductory material (pp. xiii-xxxiv);

Part I:  Prologue: A Different Sort of Sacrifice;  &

Chap. 1:  A Hole in the Corner


5/12— Chap. 2:  King of the Jews;

Chap. 3:  You Know Where I Am From;  &

Chap. 4:  The Fourth Philosophy


5/19— Chap. 5: Where Is Your Fleet to Sweep the Roman Seas?  &

Chap. 6:  Year One


5/26—Memorial Day; no class


6/2—   Part II: Prologue: Zeal for Your House;

Chap. 7:  The Voice Crying in the Wilderness;  &

Chap. 8:  Follow Me


6/9—   Chap. 9:  By the Finger of God;  &

Chap. 10:  May Your Kingdom Come


6/16— Chap. 11:  Who Do You Say That I Am?  &

Chap. 12:  No King but Caesar


6/23— Part II: Prologue:  God Made Flesh;  &

Chap. 13:  If Christ Has Not Been Risen


6/30— Chap. 14:  Am I Not an Apostle?

Chap. 15:  The Just One;  &

Epilogue:  True God from True God